Sinful Sunday: The Evening Session

I don’t feel 37. I don’t think I look 37. But I am. And that means this photo, which was the inspiration for this week’s Sinful Sunday image, is at least 20 years old:

Jo Whiley and Steve Lamacq, Radio 1 Evening Session

I had a promo copy of this image on one of the pin boards on my bedroom wall for a couple of years, after entering a competition on The Evening Session and winning a picture disc LP version of the Manic Street Preachers’ The Holy Bible, signed by the remaining three members.

 

The T-shirt I’m wearing is of a similar vintage, from a time when DMs referred to the best footwear going, not something to check on Twitter. To my mind, that makes for a wholly retro Sinful Sunday…

Purple Docs and bare legs

Who else is playing this weekend? Click on the kiss:

Sinful Sunday

21 thoughts on “Sinful Sunday: The Evening Session

  1. ohhh i wasn’t into the grunge look in the 90’s but i have always loved DM’s. Now i think that look is so hot, flannel, cut-offs and DM’s.
    your photo is a great retro 90’s look…to me anyway. DM’s always remind me of late 80’s-early 90’s. Well done. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh my – you’ve just got me all nostalgic for my cherry reds. God – how could I have forgotten them?? I saved up for months and they still gave me blisters months later.
    What a fantastic shot and story – thank you x x x lovely lovely image x x

    Like

  3. Oh yes! This look was my look when I was younger, odd colour laces on my DMs a skirt so short it didn’t cover my butt and a pair of ripped tights…thank you for making me smile so much!

    Like

  4. Gorgeously sexy shot. I always wanted a pair of DMs but could never afford them. I finally got a purple pair a couple of years ago and wear them pretty much constantly during the winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

