Review: Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo

Shortly after giving the Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo a couple of outings, I had this to say:@TheShingleBeach on Twitter: You have chosen wisely

It’s my second all-glass dildo, joining the Fifty Shades of Grey Drive Me Crazy in my toy box. But they’re very different toys. While the FSOG can take me from zero to orgasm in a ridiculously short time, the Lovehoney Spiral is a much more subtle proposition.

Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo - in full

That’s despite being a much bigger toy. It’s nine inches long, with a flat, wide, grab-able base – which means almost all of it is insertable. At 1.6” in diameter at the bulb’s widest point, it’s quite girthy – and being glass it doesn’t have any give. The spiral is delicately pink and about an eighth of an inch deep with a smooth, rounded, profile.

Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo - shaft and head

When I first got it, I couldn’t make out whether I was imagining the slight tilt to the shaft or not. I resorted to getting my ruler out and checking it against that. It’s there all right, although it’s slight. So that would make it good for G-spotting, right?

Er, no.

Well, not for me, anyway.

The subtlety of that angle means that while the size and shape of the head are ideal, you really need to know which way up it is in use. I know I have sensitivity issues sometimes, but my G-spot and I are well acquainted. No matter how much I tilt this toy towards the front of my vagina: nothing.

It may be partly to do with the fact that my G-spot only really responds to thrusting motions – it doesn’t benefit from the constant pressure I find this dildo is better at providing.

It’s also quite probably the case that I gave up before working out how to hold it to keep the pressure in the right spot.

The Lovehoney heart on the base is the right way up when the curve is pointing up, not that you can see this when it’s in use. Of more use is the knowledge that the spiral starts in the dimple of the heart – that is, having that uppermost when you’re lying on your back puts the point of the dildo as far to the front of your vagina as it can be.

Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo Base

If this sounds like I’m griping, I’m really not.

This dildo is, as I said, a subtle beast. It takes a shift in attitude and approach to really enjoy it.

Once I got over the urge to attack my G-spot like there was no tomorrow, and settled in for a long, slow, relaxing session it paid off.

The larger head and pronounced spiral texture reward long slow thrusts, deep insertion, and being turned like a corkscrew – so no part of my vaginal walls misses out on the sensation. Using it like this  gives rise to kind of feeling the Tantus Echo and FSOG Drive Me Crazy create in the front of my vagina but all around it.

The length and rigidity make for a comfortably filling sensation, and once I’m warmed up it’s more than pleasant being able to feel it nudging my cervix.

Being glass it’s fantastic for temperature play. I’m a fan of cold toys, and glass takes a good five to ten minutes to lose its chill depending on how much friction it’s subjected to. The weight and the texture make up slightly for the diminishing pleasure as the dildo reaches body temperature, but a glass of cold water nearby is all that’s required to refresh the experience.

As I find it most enjoyable in long lazy sessions, I’m yet to come using it. At the moment I’m going through a phase of needing intense stimulation in multiple locations simultaneously to orgasm. This is too languorous to take me over the edge – and it feels wrong to vibrate my clitoris senseless while being so purposely slow and indulgent elsewhere.

That’s not a minus point, by the way. It’s very different from my usual masturbatory experience; something of a relief in comparison to the somewhat more focused, time-constrained, sessions I usually manage these days. It’s the sort of experience that were I to have more hands for extra stimulation elsewhere – you know, if the Chap was nearby – might well have a very different ending.

Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo - base first

Another plus is how I feel afterwards: Used.

The ghost of the sensation lasts longer with the Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo than with my others – presumably because of the lack of resolution.

I can feel the spiral texture – and, ironically, the head – for quite some time after I’m done playing, leaving me happily twitchy.

It took me a while to get used to, and it requires a little more time and effort than my go-to dildos, but the Spiral is well worth savouring.

(Bonus: Sunset witnessed while taking the pictures for this post)Sunset over the beach, Hove

2 thoughts on “Review: Lovehoney Spiral Sensual Glass Dildo

  1. Pingback: Shingle Beach History: Feeling sexy but frustrated | The Shingle Beach

  2. Pingback: Review: Tantus Splash | The Shingle Beach

Leave a Reply

